Steve Nash, Doc Rivers win awards

NEW YORK -- Phoenix All-Star Steve Nash and Boston coach Doc Rivers have won awards from the Professional Basketball Writers Association for excellence in their field combined with cooperation with media and fans.

Nash won the Magic Johnson Award, beating Kevin Love of Minnesota, Manu Ginobili of San Antonio and Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers.

Rivers was given the Rudy Tomjanovich Award. Other coaches nominated were Denver's George Karl, Stan Van Gundy of Orlando and Rick Carlisle of the Dallas Mavericks.

Also Monday, the Milwaukee Bucks public relations staff, led by Dan Smyczek, won the Brian McIntyre Award for its cooperation with local and national media. They beat the staffs from Oklahoma City, Chicago and Memphis.