Bill Streicher/USA TODAY Sports

Women's Lacrosse

CHESTER, Pa. -- For the second time in four years, the Maryland women's lacrosse team came into Sunday's national title game looking to lock up a perfect season with an NCAA championship.

And just as before, North Carolina altered the storyline in stunning fashion. The Tar Heels are national champions after doing to opponents what the Terrapins have done all year -- dominate -- in a 13-7 victory in balmy Talen Energy Stadium.

-- Vicki L. Friedman | Full story

2017 NCAA championship information

WHEN: May 27-29

WHERE: WakeMed Stadium (Cary, N.C.)

2016 CHAMPION: North Carolina

MOST TITLES: Maryland, 12

HISTORY: Past Division I Champions