Super Regional hosts include Texas, LSU, Miami

Texas is heading to the Super Regionals in an enviable position:
as the No. 1 national seed with home-field advantage.

The Longhorns (53-13), making their third straight super
regional appearance, will host Vanderbilt (45-17) on Friday in one
of eight best-of-three Super Regionals.

The host sites -- all on campus fields -- were announced late
Sunday night by the NCAA's Division I baseball committee.

Texas is looking to reach the College World Series for the 31st
time to extend its NCAA record. Meanwhile, Vanderbilt is going for
its first appearance in Omaha.

The Commodores, a No. 2 seed in their regional, advanced with a
victory over Virginia, the host and top seed.

The other sites and pairings are:

  • Florida State (45-21) at Arkansas (43-22); Arizona (33-24-1)
    at Long Beach State (39-19); and Georgia (41-21) at Georgia Tech
    (44-19), starting Friday.

  • East Carolina (51-11) at South Carolina (48-15); Tulane (41-19) at Cal State Fullerton (40-21); Texas A&M
    (42-20) at Louisiana State (44-17); and Florida (43-20) at Miami
    (47-11), starting Saturday.

    The eight winners of the super regionals will play in the
    College World Series, which begins June 18 in Omaha, Neb.

    Charlie Carr, the chairman of the Division I college baseball
    committee said the remaining national seeds -- Texas, South
    Carolina, Miami, Georgia Tech and Arkansas -- were given preference
    to host.

    The only national seeds to be eliminated were No. 5 Stanford,
    No. 6 Rice and No. 7 Arizona State.

    The defending national champion Owls were eliminated Sunday by
    Texas A&M on Justin Ruggiano's grand slam in the eighth inning of a
    7-5 victory.

    "There wasn't a minute the entire weekend that was boring,"
    Carr said. "We were all very pleased to have a good blend of great
    baseball teams and Cinderella teams, as well."

    Two teams seeded No. 3 in their regionals -- Arizona and Tulane --

    Arizona has played in the College World Series 14 times, but
    hasn't made it since 1986.

    Five of last year's College World Series participants -- Cal
    State Fullerton, LSU, Miami, South Carolina and Texas -- are two
    wins away from return trips.