Divisions will be used in 2005

RALEIGH, N.C. -- The Atlantic Coast Conference has decided on names for its divisions -- Atlantic and Coastal -- and issued a new seal to better represent recent additions to the league.

The ACC will start using the Atlantic and the Coastal divisions next season. There are no divisions for basketball.

Members of the Atlantic division are Maryland, Clemson, North Carolina State, Wake Forest, Boston College and Florida State. The Coastal division consists of Virginia, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Duke, Virginia Tech and Miami.

The new egg-shaped ACC logo includes almost the entire Eastern seaboard, with diamonds marking the locations of the conference's 11 current schools, plus Boston College. The new seal looks similar to the old circular one, which featured the six contiguous states that serve as home to the league's member schools.

But the arrival next year of Boston College provided a challenge for seal designers, who couldn't squeeze the state of Massachusetts in the old circle. So after reviewing more than 100 seal proposals, league officials adopted the oval.