Southern Conference gets 12th member in Samford

SPARTANBURG, S.C. -- Samford University will become the Southern Conference's 12th member, starting in 2008.

The Southern Conference has had 11 members since East Tennessee State left for the Atlantic Sun following the 2004-05 season.

Southern commissioner John Iamarino said Thursday the school brings an eighth football team and a 12th basketball team, making scheduling easier for SoCon schools.

Samford, in Birmingham, Ala., had been part of the Ohio Valley Conference.