Summit League name change to take effect June 1

ELMHURST, Ill. -- The Mid-Continent Conference is changing
its name to The Summit League.

The new name for the conference will take effect June 1,
conference officials said Tuesday.

"The Summit League provides a mental image to reach the top,
both academically and athletically," Commissioner Tom Douple said
in a statement.

The Elmhurst-based conference was established in 1982 as the
Association of Mid-Continent Universities, later changed to the
Mid-Continent Conference.

The Summit League will include Centenary College, Indiana
University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, Indiana University-Purdue
University Indianapolis, University of Missouri-Kansas City, North
Dakota State University, Oakland University, Oral Roberts
University, South Dakota State University, Southern Utah University
and Western Illinois University.

The name change also includes a new logo.