Strasburg named 2009 Howser winner

LUBBOCK, Texas -- Former San Diego State right-hander Stephen Strasburg, the No. 1 overall draft pick by the Washington Nationals last month, has been selected as the winner of the Dick Howser Trophy as college baseball's player of the year.

Strasburg went 13-1 with a 1.32 ERA and led the nation with 195 strikeouts while leading Tony Gwynn's Aztecs to the NCAA tournament for the first time since 1991. He beat out North Carolina first baseman Dustin Ackley and Arizona State right-hander Mike Leake for the award.

The announcement was made Thursday as part of a weekend of festivities in Lubbock celebrating this year's College Baseball Hall of Fame inductees.

Florida State catcher Buster Posey won the award last year.