tbd by editor
AP Photo/Eric Draper

39. Arizona, 1997

Lute Olson's Wildcats pulled off an unprecedented feat by defeating three No. 1 seeds en route to the program's only NCAA title. The championship was the culmination of one of the most massive rebuilding jobs in college basketball history, as Arizona had made just two NCAA tournament appearances in 32 years before Olson was hired from Iowa in 1983. The fourth-seeded Wildcats' victory over No. 1 overall seed Kansas was probably the biggest upset of the tournament that year. They also defeated North Carolina in the Final Four in what would be Dean Smith's last game. The Wildcats, who beat Kentucky for the championship, returned all five starters (Miles Simon, Mike Bibby, Michael Dickerson, A.J. Bramlett and Bennett Davison) the following season but were upset by Utah in the Elite Eight. -- Jason King