Okafor, Duhon among candidates for player of year

LOS ANGELES -- Duke's Chris Duhon and Connecticut's Emeka
Okafor are among five finalists for the John R. Wooden award as the
nation's top college basketball player.

Okafor led the Huskies to Monday night's NCAA championship game
against Georgia Tech.

Duhon helped Duke reach the national semifinals, where the Blue
Devils lost to Connecticut.

The other finalists are Stanford's Josh Childress, Saint
Joseph's Jameer Nelson and Mississippi State's Lawrence Roberts.

Nelson, who was named The AP player of the year last week,
helped his team to a 30-2 record and a berth in the final eight of
the NCAA tournament.

Roberts averaged 16.9 points and 10.1 rebounds this season.
Childress helped Stanford to a 30-2 record and the Pac-10

The winner will be announced Saturday at the Los Angeles
Athletic Club. Stanford's Mike Montgomery will receive the Legends
of Coaching award and the inaugural women's Wooden Award winner
will be named.

The winner is determined in national voting by more than 1,000
media and college basketball experts.