All-Big East team features four unanimous choices

PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- Villanova guards Randy Foye and Allan Ray, Connecticut forward Rudy Gay and Marquette forward Steve Novak were unanimous choices Monday to the all-Big East first team.

The Big East, which expanded to 16 members this season, planned on a 10-man first team, but there was a tie for the final spot in the voting by the conference's coaches.

The others selected to the first team were: West Virginia teammates Mike Gansey and Kevin Pittsnogle, Eric Hicks of Cincinnati, Chris Quinn of Notre Dame, Aaron Gray of Pittsburgh, Quincy Douby of Rutgers and Gerry McNamara of Syracuse.

Foye and Ray, both seniors, led Villanova to a share of the conference regular-season title. Foye was second in the league in
scoring with a 20.2 average, while Ray was fourth at 19.1.

Gay, a sophomore, led Connecticut to a share of the regular-season title and a national No. 1 ranking, averaging 15.4 points and 6.6 rebounds.

Novak, who led Marquette to a first-round bye in this week's tournament in the school's first season in the conference, averaged
17.4 points. The 6-foot-10 senior broke the Big East record with 70
3-pointers in conference games.

Pittsnogle averaged 19.4 points for the Mountaineers, while
Gansey shot 56.3 percent and averaged 17.4 points.

Gray, a 7-foot junior, was the only player in the league to
average a double-double at 14.0 points and a league-best 10.4

Douby, a junior guard, led the conference in scoring with a 25.1

Three sets of teammates headed the 10-man second team: Hilton Armstrong and Marcus Williams of Connecticut, Jeff Green and Roy Hibbert of Georgetown and Donald Copeland and Kelly Whitney of Seton Hall. They were joined by Taquan Dean of Louisville, Carl Krauser of Pittsburgh, Donnie McGrath of Providence and Kyle Lowry of Villanova.

Devan Downey of Cincinnati, Wilson Chandler of DePaul and Dominic James of Marquette were unanimous selections to the 11-man all-freshman team. Joining them were: Jeff Adrien of Connecticut, Sam Young of Pittsburgh, Jerel McNeal of Marquette, Sharaud Curry and Geoff McDermott of Providence, JR Inman and Anthony Farmer of Rutgers and Eric Devendorf of Syracuse.

The league's player, coach and rookie of the year will be
announced Tuesday.