Shootout field cut by two teams

ANCHORAGE, Alaska -- There will be a smaller field of men's basketball teams for the 2009 Great Alaska Shootout.

It was announced Friday that six teams instead of the traditional eight will comprise this year's tournament, scheduled for Nov. 24-28 in Anchorage.

With the smaller field, the tournament will feature Olympic-style pool play instead of the traditional tournament.

Men's teams scheduled to play this year are Alaska Anchorage, Houston, Nicholls State, Oklahoma, San Diego and Washington State.

The four teams that will play in the women's tournament are Alaska Anchorage, Cincinnati, Coastal Carolina and Western Carolina.