Johnson also won the Nagurski Trophy

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson won the
Butkus Award on Friday night as the nation's best linebacker.

Johnson is the first Texas player to win the award, beating out
Ahmad Brooks of Virginia and Matt Grootegoed of Southern

Johnson, who was a Butkus finalist last year as a junior, led
the Longhorns this season with 128 tackles, 78 solo and 19 for
loss. He also added two sacks, one interception and eight forced
fumbles for No. 6 Texas, which faces No. 13 Michigan in the Rose
Bowl on New Year's Day.

Johnson has already been named the winner of the Bronko Nagurski
Trophy, awarded to the nation's best defensive player. He was also
a finalist for the Lombardi Award, given to the top college
lineman. Georgia's David Pollack won the Lombardi.

Named for NFL Hall of Fame linebacker Dick Butkus, the award is
presented by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando.