Fitzgerald edges fellow Heisman finalist

ORLANDO, Florida -- Pittsburgh wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald on Thursday was named the winner of the Walter Camp
Player of the Year Award.

Also a Heisman Trophy finalist, Fitzgerald has set an NCAA
record with at least one touchdown reception in 18 straight
games. He has 87 receptions this season for an NCAA-leading
1,595 yards and 22 TDs.

The other finalists for the award were Oklahoma quarterback
Jason White, quarterbacks Eli Manning of Mississippi and Philip Rivers of North Carolina State and Michigan running back Chris Perry.

The Camp award is named for the former Yale coach who is
considered "the father of American football."