Utah coach lauded for perfect season

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Utah's Urban Meyer received the Football
Writers Association/Eddie Robinson coach of the year award Saturday
after leading the Utes to a perfect season and a Fiesta
Bowl victory.

The honor was announced Saturday night during the Utes' Fiesta Bowl game against Pittsburgh. Utah finished the season 12-0 with a 35-7 victory.

The other finalists for the award -- first presented in 1957 to
Ohio State's Woody Hayes -- were Southern California's Pete Carroll,
Tommy Tuberville of Auburn, Mike Price of Texas-El Paso, Iowa's
Kirk Ferentz and California coach Jeff Tedford.

Meyer was 22-2 at Utah and guided the Utes to
the first Bowl Championship Series game for a team from a
conference without an automatic BCS berth.

Saturday's game was Meyer's last with the Utes. He was hired by
Florida to replace the fired Ron Zook, but was allowed to coach
Utah one last time.

Meyer will receive the award Sept. 3 in his Florida debut when
the Gators host Wyoming.