Nagurski Trophy finalists announced

DALLAS -- Auburn defensive tackle Nick Fairley isn't letting star quarterback Cam Newton garner all the headlines this season.

Fairley was among five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy announced Wednesday by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The other finalists are Clemson defensive end Da'Quan Bowers, Georgia linebacker Justin Houston, Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly and LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson.

The Nagurski Trophy is given to the nation's top defensive player regardless of position. It will be presented Dec. 6 in Charlotte, N.C.