Mountain West won't expand further

SALT LAKE CITY -- The Mountain West Conference will not expand further to include either Utah State or Hawaii as a full member.

The conference board of directors on Tuesday issued a statement saying the configuration already established works best going forward.

The announcement came at the conclusion of its annual meeting in Las Vegas, where topics included television contracts, membership and efforts to change the Bowl Championship Series structure.

The Mountain West will have eight members as of July, with BYU and Utah departing and Boise State joining current members TCU, New Mexico, UNLV, San Diego State, Colorado State, Wyoming and Air Force.

In July 2012, TCU departs and Fresno and Nevada join in all sports. Hawaii joins the MWC in football only, while its other teams will compete in the Big West.