NCAAF Scoreboard

Auto Update: On


RodGilmore@espn @RodGilmore

CFB now: Bama loses playoff game, but Committee names Bama national champ. Reasons Head2head doesn't matter--Bama better team. 😉

Adam Rittenberg ESPN Staff Writer 

Matt Rhule has been diverse in his career: offense and defense, college and NFL, different spots around the country. A few weeks ago, I was told how much a certain Pac-12 job could interest him despite his northeast roots. This is another new territory for Rhule, but he's used to it.

Jared Shanker ESPN Staff Writer 

How dynamic is Oklahoma's Dede Westbrook? He's the first Power 5 receiver to average 20 yards per catch in at least eight games in a season since Georgia Tech's Demaryius Thomas did it in 2009. But Georgia Tech throws it downfield more than any other team, and it's not even close. Westbrook is 89th in air yards/target.

ESPN Stats and Information  

This is the first time since 2005 that no player from the SEC will finish in the top 5 of the Heisman Trophy voting, ending a streak of 10 straight years. The longest active streak now belongs to the Big 12, with 2016 marking their 3rd straight year.

David M. Hale ESPN Staff Writer 

Statement from Lamar Jackson on his Heisman invite: "I'm extremely humbled and honored to be a Heisman Trophy finalist. This is a great honor for me, but it's an honor that goes to my teammates too. Without them, I wouldn't have been able to be successful and I share this accomplishment with them."

David M. Hale ESPN Staff Writer 

Statement from Clemson coach Dabo Swinney on Deshaun Watson's second trip to NYC for the Heisman presentation: "This is a great honor for Deshaun and our program. He is our first (two-time finalist), and he's very deserving. I've said it before; I believe he is the best player in the nation and has been a great representative of our university."

David Lombardi ESPN Staff Writer 

It will be interesting to see how many Heisman votes Christian McCaffrey gets. He fell out of the conversation after his October injury, but rallied to again lead the nation in all-purpose yardage. McCaffrey's rushing averages were actually better than last year, when he finished runner-up.

Jake Trotter ESPN Staff Writer 

Teammates who were both Heisman finalists in the same year: 2016: Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma 2005: Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush*, USC 2004: Adrian Peterson and Jason White, Oklahoma 2004: Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush, USC 2002: Willis McGahee and Ken Dorsey, Miami 1994: Ki'Jana Carter and Kerry Collins, Penn State Note: The Heisman began inviting finalists to New York in 1982. Before that, only the winners were invited.

Max Olson ESPN Staff Writer 

Texas RB D'Onta Foreman had an incredible season with an FBS-leading 2,028 rushing yards in only 11 games. But Texas didn't play in a single game that mattered from a national perspective, and I think that (and the 5-7 record) explains the Heisman snub.

Kyle Bonagura ESPN Staff Writer 

Neither Washington QB Jake Browning, nor USC CB Adoree' Jackson were invited to the Heisman Trophy ceremony, which means the Pac-12 will not be represented in New York for the first time in three years. Dating back to 2009, the conference has had a player finish second-or-higher every year but two (2012 and 2013).

David M. Hale ESPN Staff Writer 

Oklahoma is the first team with two players finishing in the top 5 of Heisman voting in the same year since Texas Tech in 2008 and just the fifth in the last 20 years. The Sooners also had two finalists in 2004 (Adrian Peterson and Jason White).

Jake Trotter ESPN Staff Writer 

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook are both headed to New York as Heisman finalists. This marks just the fifth time ever that teammates are finalists for the Heisman in the same year, not including Reggie Bush and Matt Leinart in 2005 (Bush's Heisman was later revoked).

David M. Hale ESPN Staff Writer 

Michigan's Jabrill Peppers is the first defensive player to be a Heisman finalist since Notre Dame's Manti Te'o in 2012 and just the fourth in the last decade to finish in the top 5 in voting.

David M. Hale ESPN Staff Writer 

Dalvin Cook was always the lost man in the ACC's Heisman race. His 19 touchdowns, 2,046 total yards and rush yards after contact all ranked among the best in the nation, and he did while facing seven defenses ranked among the top 25 in ESPN's defensive efficiency.

Chris Fowler @cbfowler

Congrats to voter-chosen #Heisman finalists! (alphabetical) Lamar Jackson, Baker Mayfield, Jabrill Peppers, Deshaun Watson, Dede Westbrook