Four active coaches among inductees

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- North Carolina coach Sylvia Hatchell and
three other active college coaches are among six people who will be
inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame next year.

Hatchell will be joined by North Dakota State coach Amy Ruley,
Oregon coach Bev Smith, Kansas coach Marian Washington, eight-time
AAU All-American Lurlyne Greer Rogers and William L. "Bill" Wall,
the first executive director of USA Basketball.

The names of the inductees will be officially announced Sunday
at the State Farm Women's Tip-off Classic at Purdue. The induction
ceremony will be held next June at the hall, which is located in

The hall's first class was inducted in 1999.

"This is a great mix of people who have been so integral to the
growth of women's basketball at all levels," said Texas coach Jody
Conradt, president of the hall's board of directors.

Hatchell, beginning her 29th season as a college coach, led
North Carolina to the 1994 national championship, 11 NCAA
tournaments and four Atlantic Coast Conference championships.

She was a coach for the U.S. national teams that won gold medals
at the 1988 Olympics, the 1986 Goodwill Games and World
Championships and the 1983 World University Games.

Hatchell coached 11 years at Francis Marion, which won the AIAW
small college championship in 1982 and the NAIA championship in
1986. She's the only women's coach to win titles in the AIAW, NAIA
and NCAA.

Ruley, the starting point guard on Purdue's first team in 1975,
is in her 25th season in Fargo, N.D. North Dakota State has won
five NCAA Division II championships, including four straight from
1993-96, during her tenure. She's been named coach of the year 26
at the state, regional or national level.

Ruley has also been a coach for the U.S. team.

Smith was a two-time Kodak All-American at Oregon and played on
Canadian national teams from 1977 to her retirement in 1996. She
coached the 2000 Canadian Olympic team, which placed 10th. She
became the Ducks' coach in 2001.

Smith is a member of the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame and the
Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame.

Washington is entering her 31st season at Kansas, which has been
in 11 NCAA tournaments and has won seven conference titles and six
conference tournament championships. She was named the Big 12 coach
of the year in 1997.

A former player at West Chester State, Washington was one of the
first black women to play on the U.S. national team in 1971. She
was the first black coach for the USA when she was an assistant on
the gold medal-winning Olympic team in 1996.

Rogers, who died in 2001 at age 73, was an AAU All-American from
1947-54 and named the AAU national championship MVP three times.

She was captain of the U.S. national team that played in the
1955 Pam American Games, the first time women's basketball was

Wall was director of the Amateur Basketball Association of the
United States of America from 1975-92, by which time it was known
as USA Basketball. He directed many of the host organizing
committees for international events such as the 1984 Olympics and
1990 Goodwill Games.

After the June induction, the hall will have 79 members.