Three 'Horns named first team, Jackson top freshman

DALLAS -- Texas' Jody Conradt repeated as Big 12 Coach of the Year while Kansas State senior Nicole Ohlde earned her second straight Big 12 Player of the Year honor, highlighting the 2004 All-Big 12 Conference Team voted on by the league's head coaches and released Friday by the conference office.

Texas dominated the honors, as Stacy Stephens, Heather Schreiber and Jamie Carey were named to the 10-member all-conference first team and Tiffany Jackson gained Rookie of the Year honors.

Stephens and Schreiber earned first-team accolades for the second consecutive year, while Carey, last year's Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, made her first appearance on the first team.

Stephens has been an All-Big 12 selection all four seasons (honorable
mention as a freshman, second team as a sophomore), while Schreiber has been
all-conference in each of her three years. She was the 2001-02 Big 12
Freshman of the Year.

Also joining Ohlde on the All-Big 12 first team were teammate Kendra Wecker, Colorado's Tera Bjorklund, Missouri's Evan Unrau, Texas A&M's Toccara Williams; and Baylor's Sophia Young and Steffanie Blackmon.

Conradt led the Longhorns to a share of the 2004 Big 12 championship and their 12th league title overall. Texas is currently 26-3 on the year and ranked third nationally by the Associated Press. The Longhorns enter the Big 12 tournament as the No. 1 seed, winning the head-to-head tiebreaker over Kansas State. UT is 10-3 this year against nationally ranked teams, including a 5-2 mark against top-10 competition. The team was ranked No. 1 in the AP Poll two weeks this season and has been ranked in the top five every week.

Ohlde, a 6-foot-4 senior forward/center, helped lead Kansas State to a share of the 2004 Big 12 title, KSU's first conference title since the inception of the Big 12 and seventh overall. The Clay Center, Kan., native is KSU's all-time leading scorer, male or female, with 2,161 points, which rank second in Big 12 history behind Phylesha Whaley's (Oklahoma, 1997-00) 2,187 career points. Her 970 career rebounds are third in Big 12 annals. Ohlde is fourth in the Big 12 in all-games scoring with 17.1 ppg and first in conference-only games with 19.0 ppg.

For the season, she is 13th in rebounding (6.7), second in field-goal percentage (56.9), ninth in assists (3.89), and sixth in blocks (1.85).

Oklahoma State's Nina Stone was selected Big 12 Newcomer of the Year. The 5-7 junior guard from Indianapolis, Ind., averages 12.0 ppg and 3.9 rpg. She leads OSU with 84 assists and 42 steals. She is 21st in the Big 12 in scoring, seventh in free throw pct. (83.9), eighth in three-pointers made per game (1.59) and 15th in assists (3.11).

Jackson, a 6-foot-3 forward from Dallas, Texas, is UT's second-leading scorer and rebounder with 12.7 ppg and 7.7 rpg, and is second on the team with 33 blocks. Jackson is a four-time Big 12 Rookie of the Week selection. She is 16th in the Big 12 in scoring, ninth in rebounding, fifth in steals (1.97), 13th in field goal pct. (47.6), and 12th in blocks (1.14). She leads Big 12 freshmen in scoring, rebounding and steals.

A complete look at the All-Big 12 honors:

First Team
Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State, F/C, 6-4, Sr, Clay Center, Kan.
Kendra Wecker, Kansas State, F, 5-11, Jr, Marysville, Kan.
Stacy Stephens, Texas, F, 6-1, Sr, Winnsboro, Texas
Tera Bjorklund, Colorado, C, 6-5, Sr, St. Peter, Minn.
Evan Unrau, Missouri, F, 6-1, Sr, Fort Collins, Colo.
Heather Schreiber, Texas, F, 6-2, Jr, Windthorst, Texas
Toccara Williams, Texas A&M, G, 5-9, Sr, Hollywood, Fla.
Sophia Young, Baylor, F, 6-1, So, St. Vincent, West Indies
Steffanie Blackmon, Baylor, P, 6-2, Jr, Dallas, Texas
Jamie Carey, Texas, G, 5-6, Jr, Thornton, Colo.

Second Team
Erin Grant, Texas Tech, G, 5-8, So, Arlington, Texas
Dionnah Jackson, Oklahoma, G, 5-9, Jr, St. Louis, Mo.
Tiffany Jackson, Texas, F, 6-3, Fr, Dallas, Texas
Laurie Koehn, Kansas State, G, 5-8, Jr, Hesston, Kan.
Maria Villarroel, Oklahoma, G, 5-8, Sr, Margarita, Venezuela

Honorable Mention
Alesha Robertson, Texas Tech; Caton Hill, Oklahoma; Keasha Cannon-Johnson, Nebraska; Kate Fagan, Colorado; Megan Mahoney, Kansas State; Alexa Johnson, Nebraska; Stretch James, Missouri; Randie Wirt, Colorado; Anne O'Neil, Iowa State