UNC, Michigan State also get No. 1 seeds

LSU, Tennessee, North Carolina and Michigan State were awarded No. 1 seeds as the women's NCAA Tournement bracket was unveiled Sunday.

LSU, the No. 1 overall seed, was placed in the Chattanooga Regional. Tennessee, which some expected to get the chance to play closer to home in the regionals, instead topped the Philadelphia Regional.

According to the bracket, the Chattanooga winner would meet up with the winner from the Tempe Regional in the national semifinals. North Carolina is Tempe's No. 1.

Michigan State topped the Kansas City Regional.

Play opens Saturday and Sunday. The Final Four will be played April 3-5 in Indianapolis.

In trying to reduce the number of home-court sites, the women's tournament's first- and second-round games will now be played at eight sites, or pods, with eight teams each. Previously, four teams were sent to 16 sites for the first two rounds.

Compass points are a thing of the past, too. The four regions are named by location -- Philadelphia, Chattanooga, Kansas City and Tempe. First- and second-round sites will also be known by their locale. Those sites are Storrs, Conn.; College Park, Md.; Chapel Hill, N.C.; Knoxville, Tenn.; Minneapolis; Dallas; Fresno; and Seattle.

LSU and Tennessee both play their first-round games in Knoxville. Michigan State opens in Minneapolis, and North Carolina's at home in Chapel Hill.