Junior forward led team to state title in Georgia

ATLANTA -- The Naismith Trophy winner as the girls high school player of the year is headed to the University of Connecticut.

Maya Moore, a 6-foot junior forward who led Collins Hill High School to the state championship, made the announcement Monday in her high school cafeteria.

She said she made her decision early so it would not be a distraction this summer on the AAU circuit. She also considered Tennessee, Duke and Georgia.

Moore averaged 23.2 points, 11.3 rebounds, 5.4 steals and 5.0 assists to help Suwanee's Collins Hill win Georgia's Class AAAAA championship.

She was presented the Naismith Trophy on Friday at the Naismith Awards Banquet in Atlanta. Notable past Naismith winners include Lisa Leslie, Chamique Holdsclaw, Candace Parker, Diana Taurasi and Courtney Paris.