Goestenkors, Bennett awarded Naismith Trophy

ATLANTA -- Recently named Texas coach Gail Goestenkors and Washington State's Tony Bennett have been named the 2007 Naismith Women's and Men's College Coaches of the Year award, respectively.

The award, presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, is annually given to the top men's and women's coaches in the country.

Goestenkors completed her 15th season at Duke before announcing Tuesday that she'll be heading to Texas. Goestenkors led the Blue Devils to a 32-2 overall, winning a school-record 30 straight games and 14-0 ACC mark.

Goestenkors owns a career 76.4 ACC win percentage -- the best all-time in ACC history.

Bennett led the Cougars to a school-record 26 wins this season and was named Pac-10 coach of the year. In his first season with Washington State, Bennett led the team to the NCAA Tournament, the school's first appearance in 13 years.

Goestenkors and Bennett will be recognized at the Naismith Awards banquet presented on April 5 in Atlanta.