Candidates set for player of year awards

The preseason lists for the Wade Trophy, Wooden Award and Naismith Trophy to honor the top women's basketball player for the 2010-11 season have been released.

The Wooden list is comprised of 30 student-athletes; the Naismith list is made up of 50 candidates.

Twenty-five student-athletes were named preseason candidates for the Wade Trophy: Danielle Adams, Texas A&M, senior center; Kachine Alexander, Iowa, senior guard; Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee, senior guard; Kelley Cain, Tennessee, junior center; Elena Delle Donne, Delaware, sophomore forward; Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, sophomore guard; Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky, senior forward; Dawn Evans, James Madison, senior guard; Brittney Griner, Baylor, sophomore center; Amber Harris, Xavier, senior forward; Tiffany Hayes, Connecticut, junior guard; Shenise Johnson, Miami (Fla.), junior guard; Jantel Lavender, Ohio State, senior center; Maya Moore, Connecticut, senior forward; Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford, junior forward; Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, senior forward; Ta'Shia Phillips, Xavier, senior center; Samantha Prahalis, junior guard; Chastity Reed, UALR, senior forward; Danielle Robinson, Oklahoma, senior guard; Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown, sophomore guard; Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee, junior guard; Carolyn Swords, Boston College, senior center; Jasmine Thomas, Duke, senior guard; Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga, senior guard.

Student-athletes from 19 teams and 10 conferences were included on the Wade Watch list. Tennessee led the way with three players; Connecticut, Xavier, Stanford and Ohio State (Lavender and Prahalis) each added two. The Big East and SEC each have four student-athletes on the list.

Six schools had two players chosen to the preseason Wooden list: Connecticut, North Carolina, Ohio State, Stanford, Tennessee and Xavier. The ACC and Big East each had five players named to the Wooden preseason top 30. Four sophomores made the cut.

The Wooden Award All-American
Team, consisting of the nation's top five players, will be announced the week of the Elite Eight. The Naismith Trophy will be awarded on April 4, 2011, at the women's Final Four in Indianapolis.

Connecticut senior Maya Moore won the Wade Trophy last season and the Wooden Award in 2009. Former Huskies star Tina Charles won the Wooden and Naismith awards for the 2009-10 season.