Martin St. Louis named finalist

Martin St. Louis, already a three-time Lady Byng Trophy winner, was selected as a finalist for the eighth time in 10 years. Brace Hemmelgarn/USA TODAY Sports

NEW YORK -- New York Rangers forward Martin St. Louis, San Jose Sharks forward Patrick Marleau and Colorado Avalanche forward Ryan O'Reilly are finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy.

St. Louis was selected a finalist for the eighth time in 10 years on Tuesday. He won the award last season and in both 2010 and 2011 while playing for the Tampa Bay Lightning.

"It's an honor to be [nominated] for any award," St. Louis told ESPNNewYork.com's Katie Strang following the Rangers' morning skate in Philadelphia. "But I think my focus is on something bigger and better right now."

The Rangers are tied 1-1 with the Flyers in their best-of-seven first-round series that resumes Tuesday night.

The Lady Byng Trophy honors a person in the league who plays at a high level with good sportsmanship. The NHL will announce the winner of all of its awards on June 24 in Las Vegas.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.