Tennis and track stars win honors

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Georgia tennis player Matias Boeker and
Arkansas track star Amy Yoder Begley were named Southeastern
Conference athletes of the year Wednesday.

The winners were selected by the league's athletic directors.

Boeker led Georgia to its fourth national title while winning
both the NCAA singles and doubles titles, only the third Division I
men's player to complete that triple crown. The two-time
All-American was Georgia's first NCAA singles champion since Mikael
Pernfors in 1985.

Boeker went 44-8 last season and closed the year with 18
straight wins.

Yoder Begley, a 15-time All-American, captured SEC and NCAA
championships in the 10,000 meters. She won 16 SEC titles in her
career and was the most decorated distance runner in SEC history.

She was the first athlete since the 1940s and the only woman to
win three consecutive SEC cross country titles.

Yoder Begley was also a four-time SEC Academic Team selection.