Ex-players to announce draft picks

NEW YORK -- Second-round pick turned Hall of Famer Dermontti Dawson will look to bring some good karma to the Pittsburgh Steelers when he announces their selection Friday at the NFL draft.

For the second straight year, the league will have retired players announce the choices by their former teams in the second round. Dawson and former Saint Willie Roaf will both be inducted into the Hall of Fame this year. The group announced Monday includes four other Hall of Famers: the Lions' Barry Sanders, the Raiders' Willie Brown, the Cardinals' Roger Wehrli and the Dolphins' Dwight Stephenson.

Washington, Oakland, New Orleans and Arizona do not have second-round selections, so their representatives will announce their third-round picks.

The other players are Alge Crumpler (Falcons), Matt Stover (Ravens), Phil Hansen (Bills), Mike Rucker (Panthers), Otis Wilson (Bears), Isaac Curtis (Bengals), Gary Collins (Browns), Chad Hennings (Cowboys), Terrell Davis (Broncos), LeRoy Butler (Packers), Danny Clark (Texans), Marvin Harrison (Colts), Fred Taylor (Jaguars), Will Shields (Chiefs), Anthony Carter (Vikings), Troy Brown (Patriots), Michael Strahan (Giants), Wesley Walker (Jets), Brian Westbrook (Eagles), Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt (Rams), Courtney Hall (Chargers), Jesse Sapolu (49ers), Walter Jones (Seahawks), Dexter Jackson (Buccaneers), Eddie George (Titans), and Ken Harvey (Redskins).