Berman earns Hall of Fame honor

His career has gone all ... the ... way ... to Canton.

ESPN's Chris Berman was named the 2010 recipient of the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award on Monday.

"I embraced pro football a long time ago," Berman said in a statement. "I'm honored and humbled beyond belief, that pro football in turn, has embraced me."

He will receive the award on Aug. 6 during the Enshrines Dinner, where the Class of 2010 (Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson, Dick LeBeau, Floyd Little, John Randle, Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith) will receive their Hall of Fame gold jackets.

Previous honorees include Curt Gowdy, Pat Summerall, Frank Gifford, Jack Buck, Dick Enberg, John Madden and Lesley Visser.

Berman, a six-time national sportscaster of the year award winner, has been with ESPN since October 1979 -- less than a month after the network launched.

Berman is the lead voice on ESPN's NFL coverage, including "Sunday NFL Countdown", "Monday Night Countdown", NFL segments on "SportsCenter" and halftime highlights during the "Monday Night Football" game.

The upcoming NFL season will mark Berman's 25th consecutive as host of "Sunday NFL Countdown".

Berman has also anchored ESPN's coverage of the NFL draft since 1987.

He was also recently honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.