<
>

Error created extra time that cost Seahawks

The NFL has not made a final decision, but the league will likely fine referee Tom White and his crew involved in the clock blunder in the Seahawks' overtime loss to the Ravens last week, ESPN's Chris Mortensen reports.

Although the league ruled out a suspension, the crew will likely lose a game check, Mortensen reports, and the crew likely will be disciplined because each official is held accountable by the NFL to know the game-clock rule.

The league acknowledged Monday that the crew erred when it did not restart both the 40-second clock and the game clock late in the game after discussing, then negating, a penalty call with 58 seconds left in regulation. The Seahawks had the ball and led 41-38.

That error gave the Ravens an extra 39 seconds instead of 4 or 5 when they got the ball back on downs at the
Baltimore 33, allowing them to tie the game on Matt Stover's field goal following a crucial 44-yard pass interference penalty. Baltimore won 44-41 in overtime.

"The clock was not started at the proper time, which was an
administrative error by the officiating crew," NFL officiating chief Mike Pereira said in a
statement last week.

The Seahawks are in the thick of the playoff race, which wasn't lost on coach Mike Holmgren after the game.

"It's hard. It's like losing a game on a Hail Mary deal," Holmgren said. "You're pretty sure your game is won and then it's lost."