Chiefs' Waters honored before game

NFL commissioner Roger Goodell revealed Sunday that Brian Waters of the Kansas City Chiefs was this season's winner of the Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

Goodell made the announcement shortly before kickoff of the Super Bowl, flanked by Payton's children, Brittany Payton and former University of Miami running back Jarrett Payton.

The Man of the Year award has been issued by the NFL since 1970, then re-named in Payton's honor in 1999.

One player from each team is nominated for the award, which recognizes a player for his community service activities as well as his excellence on the field. A charitable donation of $25,000 will be made by the NFL in Waters' name.

London Fletcher of the Washington Redskins and Mike Furrey of the Cleveland Browns were the other finalists.