Rabada ruled out as South Africa bowl first

49.6 . NZ (0:50)

49.6 . NZ (0:50)

South Africa won the toss and decided to bowl against New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Kagiso Rabada missed the second one-day international in Christchurch with what AB de Villiers termed "a knee niggle" but South Africa were able to recall David Miller after he recovered from his finger injury.

South Africa won the toss and bowled on what is said to be a wicket that has not quite had the preparation the groundstaff would have ideally wanted after recent poor weather. They also left out left-arm wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi with Wayne Parnell and Dwaine Pretorius coming into the bowling attack.

New Zealand named an unchanged XI as they aimed to level the series which means another outing for Ish Sodhi. Williamson said he would have also bowled first. Their top order is under some pressure and will face scrutiny straightaway.

New Zealand 1 Dean Brownlie, 2 Tom Latham (wk), 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Neil Broom, 6 James Neesham, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Trent Boult

South Africa 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt), 5 JP Duminy, 6 David Miller, 7 Chris Morris, 8 Wayne Parnell, 9 Andile Phehlukwayo, 10 Dwaine Pretorius, 11 Imran Tahir