38 suspensions blemish 2014 kickoff

When the NFL season opens Thursday night as Green Bay visits Seattle, 36 players (six of whom are unsigned), an owner and a coach will be serving suspensions.

None of the Packers or Seahawks are suspended for the opener, but players from 19 teams will sit out -- including three from Dallas, which is tops in the league. The Cowboys' suspended players are Josh Brent (10 games), and Orlando Scandrick and Jakar Hamilton (four each).

Nine teams have two players suspended:

• Jacksonville's Justin Blackmon (indefinite) and Ace Sanders (4 games).

• Washington's Tanard Jackson (indefinite) and Brandon Meriweather (2 games).

• Cleveland's Josh Gordon (season) and Marlon Moore (1 game).

• Baltimore's Will Hill (6 games) and Ray Rice (2 games).

• New England's Brian Tyms and Brandon Browner (4 games each).

• Miami's Dion Jordan and Reshad Jones (4 games each).

• Kansas City's Donald Stephenson (4 games) and Dwayne Bowe (1 game).

New York Giants' Eric Herman and Jayron Hosley (4 games each).

• Denver's Matt Prater and Wes Welker (4 games each).

Teams with one player suspended:

• Arizona's Daryl Washington (season).

• San Francisco's Aldon Smith (9 games)

• Carolina's Frank Alexander (4 games)

• Philadelphia's Lane Johnson (4 games)

• Indianapolis' Robert Mathis (4 games)

• St. Louis' Stedman Bailey (4 games)

• Minnesota's Jerome Simpson (3 games)

• Cincinnati's Chris Lewis-Harris (2 games)

• Buffalo's Nigel Bradham (1 game)

Unsigned free agents include:

• Fred Davis (indefinite), LaVon Brazill (season), Brandon Moore (4 games), Jake Knott (4 games), Rokevious Watkins (4 games) and Spencer Nealy (4 games).

Indianapolis owner Jim Irsay is serving a 6-game suspension, while Minnesota special teams coach Mike Priefer is serving a 3-game suspension.