Travis Lulay wins outstanding player

VANCOUVER, British Columbia -- Former Montana State quarterback Travis Lulay was selected the Canadian Football League's outstanding player Thursday night.

The B.C. Lions star edged Montreal quarterback Anthony Calvillo in voting by the Football Reporters of Canada and the CFL's eight head coaches, receiving 44 of 62 votes.

"It's extremely humbling to just be mentioned with someone like Anthony Calvillo," Lulay said. "He would've been incredibly deserving had he won because he had an outstanding year.

"I've always been a confident guy and confident in my ability to play, but three years ago I couldn't plan six months ahead. I just want to soak it all in right now because it's very, very special."

The 28-year-old Lulay, in his first full season as B.C.'s starter, has led the Lions to the Grey Cup game Sunday night in Vancouver against the Winnipeg Blue Bombers. He passed for 4,815 yards and 32 touchdowns this season.

Lulay helped the Lions turn around their season. After B.C. opened with five straight losses, Lulay led the Lions to victory in 11 of their final 13 games and a 40-23 West Division final win over Edmonton last weekend.

"It says a lot for him as a football player because to start 0-5 and not give up and have the confidence to have that type of turnaround shows what type of quarterback he can be," Calvillo said. "The hardest part is now he's set himself a standard that the guys in the locker room are going to look for, you guys (media) will look for. The hardest part is staying there, that's the challenge for any quarterback."

On Sunday, the Lions will attempt to become the fourth team in CFL history to win the title at home.

B.C. teammate Paul McCallum was honored as the top special-teams player.

Edmonton tailback Jerome Messam was selected the top Canadian, and Winnipeg cornerback Jovon Johnson (defensive player), Montreal tackle Josh Bourke (lineman) and Hamilton receiver Chris Williams (rookie) also were honored. Hamilton quarterback Kevin Glenn received the Tom Pate award for outstanding community service.