Our 2010 Canadian 'shadow' squad

December, 30, 2009

Imagine that the International Olympic Committee and the International Ice Hockey Federation, sensing a chance to make more money, phone up Hockey Canada president Bob Nicholson tomorrow and announce to him that they've decided to let Canada ice a second team in the men's Olympic hockey tournament in Vancouver.

Then, Nicholson holds a news conference and announces that ESPN.com's Pierre LeBrun was chosen as the GM and Scott Burnside as the assistant GM for Team Canada B. Pretty obvious choices, in my mind.

One hour later, here's the team I would announce to the world:

Brad Richards
Ryan Smyth
Marc Savard
Vincent Lecavalier
Jeff Carter
Mike Cammalleri
Steven Stamkos
Martin St. Louis
Derek Roy
Jordan Staal
Dustin Penner
Mike Fisher
Patrick Sharp

Jay Bouwmeester
Mike Green
Dion Phaneuf
Stephane Robidas
Robyn Regehr
Dan Hamhuis
Francois Beauchemin

Cam Ward
Marty Turco
Carey Price

Now, imagine how pumped my Canadian shadow team would be in its Olympic quarterfinal against the real Team Canada. You think anyone would pay a few bucks to witness that baby?

Oh, and I didn't have room for Nathan Horton, Brian Campbell, Milan Lucic, Brad Stuart, Stephen Weiss, etc. ... Are we talking a third Canadian team?

Late update: A reader pointed out Shane Doan. I can't believe I forgot to add him, as well. Again, too much talent!

Pierre LeBrun

ESPN Senior Writer



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?