Roy, Brooks headline Hall class of 2006

TORONTO -- Patrick Roy, the NHL's winningest goaltender, and
Herb Brooks, coach of the "Miracle on Ice" team that won gold at
the 1980 Olympics, were inducted Monday into the Hockey Hall of

Original Six forward Dick Duff and Calgary Flames part-owner
Harley Hotchkiss also were inducted.

Brooks, who died in a car accident in 2003, led a team of U.S.
college players to the greatest upset in hockey history, the
"Miracle on Ice" victory over the mighty Soviet machine in the
1980 Olympic semifinals. The Americans went on to win gold, which
they hadn't done since 1960.

"It seems it wasn't just a sporting event," his son, Dan
Brooks, said. "It was almost a piece of American history."

Roy was a no-brainer in his first year of eligibility after
amassing 551 regular-season wins and 151 playoff victories -- both
NHL records -- as well as three Conn Smythe Trophies (1986, '93,
'96) as playoff MVP and three Vezina Trophies as the NHL's top
goalie (1989, '90, '92).

He played on four Stanley Cup championship teams in 19 seasons
with the Montreal Canadiens and Colorado Avalanche.

"It was a great career," the 40-year-old Roy said. "It was
fun, every minute of it, and I'm happy to still be involved in
hockey today. Hockey is my passion."

Brooks began coaching at his alma mater, the University of
Minnesota, in 1972. He led the Gophers to three NCAA titles and
later coached the New York Rangers, Minnesota North Stars,
New Jersey Devils and Pittsburgh Penguins.

Duff played with Toronto, Montreal, Los Angeles, Buffalo and the
New York Rangers during an 18-year career that ended in 1972. He
won six Stanley Cups with the Maple Leafs and the Canadiens, was a
seven-time All-Star and finished his career with 283 goals and 572
points in 1,030 games.

"I was almost in tears," Duff said. "This means a lot to me,
just like playing hockey meant a lot to me."

Hotchkiss was part of the group that moved the Flames to Calgary
from Atlanta. He's still a part owner of the team, and is the
chairman of the NHL's Board of Governors.