Slovakia to host World Championships in 2011

RIGA, Latvia -- Slovakia has been selected to
stage the 2011 World Championships following a vote at the
International Ice Hockey Federation congress on Friday.

It will be the first time as World Championships hosts for
Slovakia, which beat off bids from Sweden and Hungary.

Finland withdrew before the vote but immediately announced
it would bid for the 2012 championships.

Slovakia failed to reach the quarterfinals at this year's
event, but since the breakup with the Czech Republic has
emerged as a hockey power, winning the 2002 gold along with a
silver in 2000 and a bronze in 2003.