Lidstrom, Chara, Phaneuf up for Norris Trophy

Five-time Norris Trophy winner Nicklas Lidstrom was one of three finalists named for the 2008 award Tuesday.

Along with the All-Star Detroit Red Wings defenseman, the
Boston Bruins' Zdeno Chara and the Calgary Flames' Dion Phaneuf also are finalists for the award that goes to the league's top defenseman.

Lidstrom, who turns 38 Monday, earned his ninth Norris nomination in the past 10 seasons for helping the Red Wings post a league-low 2.16 goals against average. He also led all defensemen with 70 points (10 goals, 60 assists), was second in the NHL in plus-minus (plus-40), and was fourth in the league in average ice time per game (26:43). Lidstrom won the Norris Trophy from 2001-2003 and again in 2006 and 2007.

The Red Wings captain is tied with Ray Bourque with five Norris Trophies. A sixth would leave him alone in third place behind arguably the two greatest blue-liners ever -- Doug Harvey (seven Norris Trophies) and Bobby Orr (eight).

The 31-year-old Chara, who finished second in Norris voting to the New Jersey Devils' Scott Niedermayer in 2004, set career highs for goals (17), assists (34) and points (51) for the Bruins this season. He was third among NHL players in average ice time per game (26:50), and led the Bruins with 223 hits and improved his plus-minus from minus-21 in 2006-07 to plus-14 in 2007-08.

The 23-year-old Phaneuf, who finished third behind the Pittsburgh Penguins' Sidney Crosby and the Washington Capitals' Alexander Ovechkin in Calder Trophy voting for the league's top rookie last season, led Flames defensemen with 60 points (17 goals, 43 assists). He also led the team in average ice time per game (26:25) and shots (194).

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.