20 NHL players file for arbitration

Former Norris Trophy winner P.K. Subban and the New York Rangers' Chris Kreider were among the noteworthy players who filed for salary arbitration Saturday.

A total of 20 players filed before the 5 p.m. ET deadline. Salary arbitration is limited to restricted free agents with at least four years of experience.

Arbitration hearings will be held in front of an independent arbitrator in Toronto between July 20 and Aug. 4. Not all players who elect for arbitration will actually go to a hearing; they can and often negotiate with their teams and sign deals before the hearings start.

The deadline for team-elected salary arbitration is 5 p.m. ET on Sunday. Players can be taken to arbitration once in their careers but they can request arbitration numerous times.

The following is a complete list of players who filed for arbitration, from a list distributed by the NHL Players' Association:

Brandon McMillan (Arizona Coyotes); Matt Bartkowski (Boston Bruins); Joe Colborne (Calgary Flames); Cameron Gaunce, Antoine Roussel (Dallas Stars); Jimmy Hayes (Florida Panthers); Dwight King (Los Angeles Kings); Justin Fontaine (Minnesota Wild); Lars Eller, Subban (Montreal Canadiens); Mattias Ekholm (Nashville Predators); Kevin Poulin (New York Islanders); Derick Brassard, Kreider, Mats Zuccarello (New York Rangers); Derek Grant (Ottawa Senators); Nick Spaling (Pittsburgh Penguins); Jason Demers (San Jose Sharks); Cody Franson, James Reimer (Toronto Maple Leafs).