Phinney takes silver in worlds time trial

PRUSZKOW, Poland -- Stefan Nimke of Germany won the 1-kilometer time trial in an upset Friday at the track world championships, with Taylor Phinney of the United States taking the silver medal.

Nimke, an Olympic bronze medalist in the team sprint, started slow but finished in 1 minute, 0.666 seconds, nearly half a second faster than the best time of absent world and Olympic champion Chris Hoy of Britain.

"It's a surprise for sure. The time is very, very good," Nimke said. "It's a very fast time and it was unbelievable. I saw on the screen the time and said, 'Whoa, fast time.' "

Also, Denmark won the men's team pursuit and Yumari Gonzalez Valdivieso of Cuba captured the women's scratch race.

Nimke rode early and had a nervous 30-minute wait to see whether his time would hold up.

"I went 15th and had to wait for the next 12 or 13 riders, so it was a long time," he said. "But it was good because I felt very sick and my legs hurt very much."

Phinney, who the individual pursuit the day before, was in awe of Nimke's ride.

"I was definitely not expecting that fast of a time," Phinney said. "Nimke's ride was phenomenal, I was definitely really impressed. He beat Chris Hoy's time of a couple years ago, so that's saying a lot."

The Danish team of Casper Jorgensen, Jens-Erik Madsen, Michael Faerk Christensen and Alex Rasmussen captured the men's pursuit crown, crossing the line in 3:58.246 to beat Jack Bobridge, Rohan Dennis, Leigh Howard and Cameron Meyer of Australia by more than half a second.

Rasmussen said the Danes' experience -- three of the four riders raced on the silver medal squad in Beijing -- paid off against a young Australian team.

"We know each other, and coming from the Olympics we're not so nervous going back to the world championships," he said.

Britain, which had only Ed Clancy from last year's world champion team, was left without a medal in the team pursuit after losing to New Zealand in the bronze medal race.

In the women's scratch, Gonzalez Valdivieso outpaced the 18 other riders.

A half dozen riders crashed with eight laps to go in the 40-lap race, including Britain's Elizabeth Armitstead, who popped back onto her bike and rode on to a silver medal.

"I'm a bit disappointed maybe with the way I handled it," Armitstead said. "I would have liked to come around the Cuban earlier, and I think perhaps if I hadn't crashed I might not have hesitated but I'm still happy I got the medal and she's the world champion and deserves it."

Belinda Goss of Australia was third for a second straight year and defending champ Eleonora Van Dijk of the Netherlands was sixth.

In the women's sprint, defending champion Victoria Pendleton of Britain, 2008 runner-up Simona Krupeckaite of Lithuania, Willy Kanis of the Netherlands and Olga Panarin of Belarus all advanced to Saturday's finals.