Four teams get Tour invitations

PARIS -- Tour de France organizers have selected French teams Cofidis, FDJ, Saur-Sojasun and Europcar as wild-card invitations for the race this summer.

The other 18 teams gained automatic entry with their UCI ProTeams license.

The 98th edition of the Tour starts in the Vendee region July 2 and ends July 24 in Paris.

The Amaury Sport Organization, which runs the Tour, also announced Thursday the four French teams invited for the Paris-Nice stage race in March. They are Cofidis, FDJ, Europcar and Bretagne-Schuller.