Troy Dumais wins 31st, 32nd titles

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- Three-time Olympian Troy Dumais won his 31st and 32nd career national titles with victories on 3-meter and synchronized 3-meter with Kristian Ipsen on Sunday to close out the U.S. national diving championships.

Other Sunday winners were Olympian Haley Ishimatsu in women's 10-meter and Laura Ryan and Amy Cozad in women's synchronized 10-meter.

Dumais scored 514.05 points to win the individual men's 3-meter contest, with Ipsen taking second at 465.60. The synchro partners were tied after two rounds, receiving identical scores on their first two dives. Ipsen led after the third round, but Dumais broke away with scores of 86.70 and 92.75 on his inward and reverse 3½ tucks in the fourth and fifth rounds.

Brandon Watson, who won the men's 1-meter title on Wednesday, scored 459.20, and Olympian Chris Colwill finished fourth with 448.40 points.

Dumais and Ipsen, who won silver together at the 2010 FINA World Cup, scored 443.82 to win the 3-meter synchro title. Bradley Christensen and Bryce Klein scored 360.84 for second.

"I'm extremely happy with how I dove today, except for my last dive individually. That last dive wasn't as good as I know I can be," Dumais said.

Ishimatsu won her third individual national title and fourth overall with 340.95 points in the women's 10-meter contest. Kara Cook finished with 330.45 points for silver, and Michelle Cabassol took third at 320.40.

Ishimatsu's lead over Cook was less than four points heading into the final round. Both divers averaged 7.5 marks on their last dives, but Ishimatsu's final dive, a back 2½ with 1½ twists, carried a higher degree of difficulty (3.2) than Cook's front 2½ with 1 twist (2.9), giving Ishimatsu the higher score and another national title.

"It was an interesting competition. It was really close. I know I didn't do my best, but I'm still happy about it," said Ishimatsu, who will begin her freshman year at Duke this fall.

Ryan and Cozad scored 294.00 in a come-from-behind victory for their second national title together. They trailed Cabassol and Kaylea Arnett throughout the competition and were behind by just over three points with one dive to go. Cozad and Ryan came through with 81.18 points -- their highest-scoring dive of the competition -- on their back 1½ with 3½ twists to overtake Arnett and Cabassol, who finished second at 274.77.

"That last round, we just laid it all out there and went for it," Ryan said. "It feels pretty good."

Indiana University/Indiana Diving won the overall team title, with Longhorn Aquatics winning the men's team title and The Woodlands Diving Academy taking the women's team title. Matt Cooper of Longhorn Aquatics and Kassidy Cook of The Woodlands Diving Academy were the men's and women's high-point award winners.