Bradley Wiggins awarded third

Bradley Wiggins, the 2012 Tour de France winner, has another podium finish to add to his resume: third place in the 2009 Tour.

After the International Cycling Union wiped out Lance Armstrong's win, Wiggins moved up from a fourth place finish behind Alberto Contador and Andy Schleck.

"In 2009 the placing of Mr. Armstrong will be reallocated," a UCI spokesman told the Press Association Sport. "Bradley Wiggins is the third-placed rider for the Tour de France, 2009."

Although Armstrong's seven straight wins from 1998-2005 would not be redistributed, according to the UCI ruling, those from 2009 and '10 would.