Alberto Contador
(Joel Saget/AFP/Getty Images)
Contador is the first Spaniard to win since Miguel Indurain in 1995.
Tour Truths
Cycling couldn't escape its history at this year's Tour. If it wants a promising future for Alberto Contador and others, it needs a little more truth. Bonnie DeSimone

Vinokourov fired by Astana after positive test
Alexandre Vinokourov has been fired by the Astana team following his positive test for blood doping during the Tour de France, the team announced Monday.

Rasmussen denies doping, vows to race in 2008
Michael Rasmussen denied using performance-enhancing drugs and did not rule out competing in next year's Tour de France.

DeSimone: Heavy symbolism in final Tour stage
Cyclists are rolling into Paris on Sunday, and perhaps symbolic of their doping-tainted Tour, they ride by the Chatenay-Malabry lab where tests are conducted.

Julich Diary: Time trial will give us the Tour winner
While most days at the Tour didn't turn out the way we expected, we're still going to have the time-trial showdown we wanted.

Tour de France chief calls on UCI chief to resign
The owner of the Tour de France called for cycling chief Pat McQuaid to step down Saturday after a long-running feud that escalated at this race and threatens to divide cycling.

DeSimone: Rasmussen fails to be open in this very public Tour
Professional cycling is in public spaces. It's chaotic and edgy, thrilling and petty, full of arcane etiquette, rife with ego and political infighting, and often dysfunctional -- never more so than in the past 48 hours.

End text -------------------------

Prologue: July 7, 7.9km individual time trial
London -- Winner: Cancellara
Stage 1: July 8, 203km
London to Canterbury -- Winner: McEwen
Stage 2: July 9, 168.5km
Dunkirk to Ghent, Belgium -- Winner: Steegmans
Stage 3: July 10, 236.5km
Waregem to Compiègne -- Winner: Cancellara
Stage 4: July 11, 193km
Villers-Cotterêts to Joigny -- Winner: Hushovd
Stage 5: July 12, 182.5km
Chablis to Autun -- Winner: Pozzato
Stage 6: July 13, 197.5km
Semur-en-Auxois to Bourg-en-Bresse -- Winner: Boonen
Stage 7: July 14, 197.5km
Bourg-en-Bresse to Le Grand Bornand -- Winner: Gerdemann
Stage 8: July 15, 165km
Le Grand Bornand to Tignes -- Winner: Rasmussen
Rest Day: July 16
Stage 9: July 17, 159.5km
Val d'Isere to Briançon -- Winner: Soler
Stage 10: July 18, 229.5km
Tallard to Marseille -- Winner: Vasseur
Stage 11: July 19, 182.5km
Marseille to Montpellier -- Winner: Hunter
Stage 12: July 20, 178.5km
Montpellier to Castres -- Winner: Boonen
Stage 13: July 21, 54km
Albi-Albi (individual time trial) -- Winner: Vinokourov
Stage 14: July 22, 197km
Mazamet to Plateau-de-Beille -- Winner: Contador
Stage 15: July 23, 196km
Foix to Loudenville-le-Louron -- Winner: Vinokourov
Rest Day: July 24
Stage 16: July 25, 218.5km
Orthez to Gourette-Col d'Aubisque -- Winner: Rasmussen
Stage 17: July 26, 188.5km
Pau to Castelsarrasin -- Winner: Bennati
Stage 18: July 27, 211km
Cahors to Angouleme -- Winner: Casar
Stage 19: July 28, 55.5km
Cognac to Angouleme (individual time trial) -- Winner: Leipheimer
Stage 20: July 29, 130km
Marcoussis to Paris-Champs-Elysées -- Winner: Bennati