Mooseheads win first Memorial Cup

SASKATOON, Saskatchewan -- Nathan MacKinnon had three goals and two assists to lead the Halifax Mooseheads to their first Memorial Cup title, 6-4 over the Portland Winterhawks on Sunday night.

Konrad Abeltshauser scored twice and had an assist, Martin Frk added a goal and two assists, and Jonathan Drouin assisted on Quebec Major Junior Hockey League champion Halifax's first five goals. The Mooseheads finished the regular season, playoffs and Memorial Cup a combined 77-8-4.

MacKinnon led the four-team Canadian Hockey League tournament with seven goals and received the Stafford Smythe Memorial trophy as the most valuable player.

Zachary Fucale made 40 saves for Halifax, the third straight QMJHL team to win the Memorial Cup -- following Saint John in 2011 and Shawinigan last year.

Ty Rattie had a goal and three assists for Western Hockey League champion Portland. Nicolas Petan added a goal and two assists, Seth Jones and Brendan Leipsic also scored, and Mac Carruth made 35 saves.