Marathon world-record holder Dennis Kimetto to miss Rio 2016

NAIROBI, Kenya -- Marathon world-record holder Dennis Kimetto won't run at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics after making himself unavailable for Kenya's team.

Two-time London Marathon champion and 2012 Olympic bronze medalist Wilson Kipsang also asked not to be considered.

Eliud Kipchoge, winner of this year's London Marathon in a course record and the second-fastest time ever, will lead Kenya's men's challenge in Rio. Kipchoge won in London last month in 2 hours, 3 minutes and 5 seconds, just eight seconds off the world record set by Kimetto in Berlin in 2014.

Kipchoge is joined by Stanley Biwott and Wesley Korir on the team announced Tuesday. Cyprian Kotut and Bernard Kipyego are reserves.

Kimetto has failed to repeat the form of 2014 and finished ninth at this year's London Marathon in 2:11.44. Kimetto and Kipsang opted out of Rio after signing up to run in marathons soon after the Olympics.

Jemima Sumgong is on the women's team after her victory at the London Marathon last month. Helah Kiprop and Visiline Jepkesho were also selected, with reserves Mary Keitany and Florence Kiplagat.

Priscah Jeptoo, the silver medalist at the London Olympics, didn't make the team as she struggles with an injury.

Despite their regular dominance on the marathon circuit, Kenyans have failed to live up to their reputation at the Olympics. The late Samuel Wanjiru, who won gold at the Beijing Games in 2008, is the only Kenyan to claim an Olympic title in the marathon.