Rafael Nadal to lead Spain

MADRID -- Reigning Olympic gold medalist Rafael Nadal will lead Spain's tennis team at the London Games.

The record seven-time French Open winner will be joined by sixth-ranked David Ferrer, Nicolas Almagro and Fernando Verdasco in singles. Feliciano Lopez and Marcel Granollers will participate in doubles.

The second-ranked Nadal will pair with Granollers in doubles, with Ferrer pairing with Lopez.

Spain's women players will be Anabel Medina Garrigues, Carla Suarez Navarro, Maria Jose Martinez. Nuria Llagostera Vives and Arantxa Parra Santonja.

Medina won silver in 2008 in women's doubles.

Competition begins on Wimbledon's grass courts July 28. All finals will be held on Aug. 4 or 5.