Olympics Sports >> Boxing


THE 11 EVENTS (all men)

  • Categories: Light-flyweight (48 kg), flyweight (51 kg), bantamweight (54 kg), featherweight (57 kg), lightweight (60 kg), light-welterweight (64 kg), welterweight (69 kg), middleweight (75 kg), light-heavyweight (81 kg), heavyweight (91 kg), super-heavyweight (+ de 91 kg)


In each category: qualifying, quarter-final, semi-final and final.


668 BC

Fist fighting appears at Ancient Games.


Jack Broughton takes the first step to reforming the brutal sport (boxing bare-fisted) by forming a set of rules.


The Englishman Jim Belcher ties a white hankerchief to the ropes in the ring during a fight. Henceforth, this hankerchief evolved to the size of a towel which was later used by trainers to end a fight by "throwing in the towel".


Boxing features for the first time at the Olympic Games in 1904 (St. Louis).


The Hungarian Laszlo Papp becomes the first pugilist to win three Olympic titles (1948 - middleweight), 1952 and 1956 (super-welterweight).


The Cuban heavyweight, Teofilo Stevenson, becomes the first boxer to win three consecutive Olympic titles in the same division (1972, 1976 and 1980).


The Olympic boxing bouts at Sydney are held over four two-minute rounds instead of three three-minute rounds. Fighters are still permitted a minute's rest between rounds.


Sugar Ray Robinson (United States)

A 25-year career! World champion in the welterweight division between 1946 and 1951 and then middleweight champion in 1951, and from 1955 to 1958. 174 victories in 199 fights.

Rocky Marciano (United States)

The only unbeaten champion. He kept his title between 1952 and 1956 and was unbeaten in 49 fights. He won 43 by knockout.

Muhammad Ali/Cassius Clay (United States)

"The greatest". Olympic middle heavyweight champion as an 18-year-old in 1960 under the name of Cassius Clay. World heavyweight champion. 22 title fights from 1964 to 1967 and then 1974 to 1978. 56 wins in 61 fights. A born-provocator, he converted to Islam and changed his name in 1964.

Copyright 2008 Agence France-Presse.

Moment in Time