Toews named top forward

Jonathan Toews earned some individual accolades to go along with his gold medal.

The Chicago Blackhawks forward was named top forward in the Olympic hockey tournament on Sunday. The all-star team was named after the second period of Canada's 3-2 overtime win over the United States in the title game.

U.S. goalie Ryan Miller earned MVP honors, while two other Americans -- defenseman Brian Rafalski and forward Zach Parise -- made the team.

Toews' Candadian teammate Shea Weber made the squad as a defenseman, while Slovakian forward Pavol Demitra, who led all scorers at the Games with 10 points, rounded out the team.

Rafalski, who plays for the Detroit Red Wings, was named top defenseman.

Toews scored Canada's first goal on Sunday. Hawks teammate Duncan Keith added an assist. Chicago defenseman Brent Seabrook also earned a gold medal.

The three overcame the effort from Hawks forward Patrick Kane, who assisted on both American goals. His shot on net in the waning moments of regulation was gathered in by Parise and put past Canada goalie Roberto Luongo to force OT.