No unanimity in this Hall class

October, 13, 2010

Here's something we all can agree on about Wednesday's NASCAR Hall of Fame vote:

The voters agree to disagree. Man, do they ever.

Four of the five new inductees to the NASCAR Hall of Fame -- Bobby Allison, Lee Petty, Ned Jarrett and Bud Moore -- received less than two-thirds of the vote among the 50 voters.

And Moore made it even though less than 50 percent of the voters selected him. He was on 45 percent of the ballots.

This vote had plenty of oddities. One is that David Pearson wasn't unanimous. He was on 94 percent of the ballots.

Clearly, some folks have a grudge against the "Silver Fox." Either that or they don't have a clue.

One thing's for sure, no veterans committee is needed. This was an old-timers vote all the way. Four of the five men selected haven't competed within the past 20 years.

Moore, who still was a team owner in the 1990s, is the only one who did. But his glory years that got him in the Hall happened in the late 1950s and early 1960s.

Part of the vote could be a desire to get people in while they still are above ground.

Moore is 85 and a decorated hero of World War II.

But his NASCAR accomplishments don't match Rick Hendrick, who may win his 10th Cup championship this year.

Some voters may have an issue with inducting anyone who remains active in the sport. I get that. No problem.

But how in the world do you have a 50-person voting committee where Cale Yarborough doesn't appear on at least 45 percent of the ballots?

And the Allison vote will bring a few debates. He deserves induction without question, but Darrell Waltrip has the same number of wins and two more championships. And Waltrip also is a popular NASCAR broadcaster, which is one of the reasons Jarrett made it in ahead of Yarborough.

So gentleman and ladies on the voting panel, we will agree to disagree. Obviously, that's what you did.

Terry Blount

ESPN Staff Writer



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?