BK puts Blue Deuce back in Victory Lane

March, 20, 2012

It may be a whole new Bristol, with side-by-side racing replacing the single-groove, knock-'em-out-of-the-way style that we all grew up with, but we saw one very familiar sight Sunday: the Blue Deuce rolling into Victory Lane.

We also saw one getting-much-more-familiar sight: Brad Keselowski celebrating a win. That's four in the past 28 for him.

That's the 10th Cup win at Bristol Motor Speedway for Penske Racing, all 10 coming from the No. 2 car. Keselowski is now responsible for two of those wins, with Rusty Wallace getting seven and Kurt Busch the other.

Penske's 10 Bristol wins are tied with Roush Fenway Racing for the most among active teams at the track. And it's good enough for a tie for second all time, behind only Junior Johnson's 16 owner wins at the half-mile bullring.

Keselowski also joined some pretty select company in drivers to win back-to-back Cup races at Bristol, becoming the 12th driver to do so. The only other active drivers to pull off that feat are the Brothers Busch. Kurt won three straight in 2003-04, while Kyle Busch twice went back-to-back.

Trivia break! Who holds the record for consecutive Cup wins at Bristol?

New power team?

Michael Waltrip Racing did something Sunday that it had never done, putting multiple cars in the top five. Not only that, but it put all three of its cars in the top five.

With those three top-5s, MWR now has as many top-5 finishes this season as the entire four-car Hendrick Motorsports organization. Only Roush Fenway Racing has more top-5s than Waltrip.

Furthermore, all three MWR cars are in the top 10 of the owner points standings (MWR is the only Cup team with three cars in the top 10).

Trivia break! Who recorded the first top-5 finish for Michael Waltrip Racing?

Everybody's a winner

With Keselowski winning in a Dodge, we've now seen all four manufacturers visit Victory Lane this season: Matt Kenseth's Ford, Denny Hamlin's Toyota and Tony Stewart's Chevrolet preceded Keselowski.

Although four car makers winning four straight races happened last year, a streak like this to start the season is a rare occurrence.

The last time we had different car models win the first four races of the season came in 1986, when Geoffrey Bodine won in a Chevrolet, then Kyle Petty in a Ford, Terry Labonte in an Oldsmobile and Morgan Shepherd in a Buick.

The amazing part, however, is my little trivia challenge below.

Trivia break! In 1986, we had different manufacturers win the first five races. Rusty Wallace won the fifth race in what make?

Trivia break answers

1. Darrell Waltrip won seven straight from 1981-84.

2. Michael Waltrip did it himself, with a second-place finish at New Hampshire in 2008.

3. Rusty Wallace won in a Pontiac.

Matt Willis | email

ESPN Staff Writer
Matt Willis has been a studio researcher at ESPN since 2006, working on "NASCAR Now" and "SportsCenter," among other shows. He graduated from Ithaca College in 2006 with a degree in journalism. While there, he worked on ICTV, on shows such as "Ya Think You Know Sports?" and "Sports Final." He also was a member of the IC Comedy Club and figures about half of the jokes he makes in his column are actually funny.


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?