Jeff Gordon among 5 new nominees for NASCAR Hall of Fame

Four-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jeff Gordon headlines a list of five new nominees to the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Gordon and 19-time race winner Harry Gant are the two drivers added to the list of 20 nominees, which includes all 15 nominees who were not selected last year. Joining them as new nominees are former team owners John Holman and Ralph Moody (who won two Cup titles together), as well as Kirk Shelmerdine, who won four Cup titles as a crew chief for Dale Earnhardt.

A driver must be retired for two years before being put on the ballot. Although Gordon -- third all time in NASCAR Cup wins with 93, behind Richard Petty (200) and David Pearson (105) -- came out of retirement to compete in eight races as a substitute for the injured Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 2016, NASCAR did not count that against his eligibility period.

Drivers who are age 55 with at least 10 years of racing or drivers who have competed in NASCAR competition for 30 years also are eligible.

The nominees were selected by a 24-person committee, who also are among the panel -- typically 55 to 60 people, including one combined ballot from online fan voting -- who will vote May 23 for the 2019 NASCAR Hall of Fame class. Each panelist chooses five names from the 20 nominees, and the five named on the most ballots earn spots in the upcoming class.

The 20 nominees for the 2019 NASCAR Hall of Fame:

Drivers: Davey Allison, Buddy Baker, Red Farmer, Harry Gant, Jeff Gordon, Alan Kulwicki, Bobby Labonte, Hershel McGriff, Larry Phillips, Ricky Rudd, Mike Stefanik

Car owners: Joe Gibbs, John Holman, Ralph Moody, Roger Penske, Jack Roush

Mechanics/crew chiefs: Ray Fox, Harry Hyde, Kirk Shelmerdine, Waddell Wilson